dysgu, chwerthin, byw

Draft Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 2.00pm 17 April 2024 Gilwern Community Centre

Present:

Kay Blackwell, Kay Chamberlain, Glyn Davies, Jo Dawson, Philip Dew, Bev Edwards, Brian Edwards, Valerie Edwards, Rachel Ehlery, David Evans, Enid Evans, Val Evans, Anona Fitzgerald, Stephen Fitzgerald, Thelma George, Anthony Godfrey, Karena Gorin, David Hall, David Harris, Karen Harris, Valerie Harrison, Catherine Hawkins, Martin Hayward, Keith Hillman, Pat Hillman, Sheila Holden, Jill Howells, Brenda James, Colin James, Karen Langlois, Hilary Lipscombe, Graham Lipscombe, Dee Lucas, Gwyn Matthews, Gwynfor May, Shirley May, Grahame Nelmes, Lynda O'Keefe, Rae Palfrey, Jacqueline Peacock, Irene Powell, Terry Riley, David Robinson, Linda Robinson, Lynda Somme-Dew, Douglas Starr, Kathleen Starr, Linda Swanson, Marilyn Tranter, Alison Tucker, John Weekes, Jean Wilding, Linda Williams, Rhiannon Williams, George Wilson, Jane Wilson, Bev Woodman, Ursula Younger.

Welcome and introduction

1. David Harris, Chair, welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting.

Apologies

2. Apologies were received from Anne Hayward and Mo Pearce.

Minutes of the Last AGM and any Matters Arising

3. David asked members if they accepted the Minutes which were agreed. There were no matters arising.

Report of Activities during 2023/24 – Chair

- 4. David had prepared a written report of the last year's activities which had been circulated with the Agenda and is attached to these Minutes. He summarised a few of the matters. He wished to give a big thanks to the Committee and to the Group Leaders. Also thanks to the members whose high turnout today was most welcome.
- 5. David particularly wanted to give special thanks to David Hall who had setup our website when first we joined the u3a movement. Owen Parry has now taken over as webmaster for which we are most grateful.
- 6. Our number of Groups is growing. Around the Hall we can see the displays and information about the Groups. The Art and Crafts4All Groups have most impressive displays of the range of their creations to admire.

Annual Accounts and Treasurer's Report – Treasurer Kathleen Starr

7. The Accounts were circulated with the Agenda. There were no comments and, accordingly, the Accounts are agreed.

Election of the Committee

8. As set out in the Agenda, the following have agreed to stand for the Committee.

Chair - David Harris
Vice Chair - Lynda Somme-Dew
Treasurer - Kathleen Starr
Secretary - Rhiannon Williams

Committee Members – Karen Harris,

Hilary Lipscombe, J. Rae Palfrey

David asked if there were any objections to those nominated which there were not. Accordingly, the above are duly appointed.

- 9. David invited any members present to consider standing for the Committee pointing out that Committee members are only able to serve for limited periods some of which are coming to an end. In this regard, for that reason, June Street is now standing down and we thank her for her time over the years on the Committee. There were no volunteers from the floor but members were welcome to discuss Committee membership with David after the Talk following this AGM.
- 10. Grahame Nelmes has agreed to rejoin the Committee. He was proposed by Karen Harris and seconded by Rae Palfrey. He is duly appointed.

Any Other Business

- 11. Kay Blackwell presented the members with an opportunity to exercise their writing skills by entering Gilwern u3a Short Story Writing Competition with a piece on "The Best or Worst Day of my Life". Kay gave details of the requirements for the contents of the story and explained how to submit the entry. This information is available on our website. Closing date is Friday 3rd May 2024.
- 12. There being no other business the meeting was closed.